Biblia Wodehousiana
Fr Rob Bovendeaard
   Home | Biblical Index | Statistics | Eulalie
1902-1909 | 1910-1919 | 1920-1929 | 1930-1939 | 1940-1949 | 1950-1959 | 1960-1969 | 1970-1977

What ho!

Welcome to Biblia Wodehousiana, an ongoing effort to inventory the biblical quotations and allusions in the works of the English novelist Sir Pelham Grenville Wodehouse (1881-1975).

This website, which will be under construction for some years to come, was created on 21st September 2003 by a Benedictine monk, Fr Rob Bovendeaard, who has been a devout reader of the Master's canon of holy wit since he was so high.

Its aim is to provide, for each of P G Wodehouse's books, an exhaustive list of the passages containing a quotation from or an allusion to the Bible, and to give the biblical references. Unless otherwise stated, the texts of the Scriptures quoted on this site come from the King James or Authorised Version (1611), which has been the best-known form of the Bible for many generations of English-speaking people and which seems to be the main source of the Master's biblical language. Whenever it is deemed useful, a brief note comments on the meaning of the Bible passage or on its—often very witty—use by P G Wodehouse.

While for various reasons there is no agreement amongst scholars as to how many books Wodehouse actually wrote, we will distinguish, for simplicity's sake, 92 novels and collections of short stories. On this site, they are divided, for practical purposes, into eight decades, which you can access through the menu at the top of each page.

Pleasant words are as an honeycomb,
sweet to the soul, and health to the bones
(Proverbs 16:24)

Here are the contents of each decade, with English titles and publication dates. The hyperlinked books have been analysed thus far. The latest updates are indicated at the bottom of this page.


The Pothunters (1902)
A Prefect's Uncle (1903)
Tales of St Austin's (1903)
The Gold Bat (1904)
William Tell Told Again (1904)
The Head of Kay's (1905)
Love Among the Chickens (1906/1921)
The White Feather (1907)
Not George Washington (1907)
The Swoop (1909)
Mike (1909)
Mike at Wrykyn (1909/1953)
Mike and Psmith (1909/1953)


A Gentleman of Leisure (1910)
Psmith in the City (1910)
The Prince and Betty (1912)
The Little Nugget (1913)
The Man Upstairs (1914)
Something Fresh (1915)
Psmith Journalist (1915)
Uneasy Money (1917)
The Man with Two Left Feet (1917)
Piccadilly Jim (1918)
My Man Jeeves (1919)
A Damsel in Distress (1919)


The Coming of Bill (1920)
Jill the Reckless (1921)
Indiscretions of Archie (1921)
The Clicking of Cuthbert (1922)
The Girl on the Boat (1922)
The Adventures of Sally (1922)
The Inimitable Jeeves (1923)
Leave it to Psmith (1923)
Ukridge (1924)
Bill the Conqueror (1924)
Carry On, Jeeves (1925)
Sam the Sudden (1925)
The Heart of a Goof (1926)
The Small Bachelor (1927)
Meet Mr. Mulliner (1927)
Money for Nothing (1928)
Mr. Mulliner Speaking (1929)
Summer Lightning (1929)

Latest updates:

Frozen Assets (16-07-2020)
Company for Henry (05-07-2020)
The Head of Kay’s (25-04-2020)
Ice in the Bedroom (29-03-2020)
Something Fishy (21-05-2019)
Sam the Sudden (04-02-2019)
A Gentleman of Leisure (16-01-2019)
My Man Jeeves (04-01-2005)
Nothing Serious (18-12-2004)
A Few Quick Ones (15-12-2004)
Plum Pie (11-12-2004)
The Coming of Bill (10-12-2004)
Additions to Psmith in the City (05-12-2004)
The White Feather (04-12-2004)
Big Money (02-12-2004)
Not George Washington (01-12-2004)


Very Good, Jeeves (1930)
Big Money (1931)
If I Were You (1931)
Doctor Sally (1932)
Hot Water (1932)
Mulliner Nights (1933)
Heavy Weather (1933)
Thank You, Jeeves (1934)
Right Ho, Jeeves (1934)
Blandings Castle and Elsewhere (1935)
The Luck of the Bodkins (1935)
Young Men in Spats (1936)
Laughing Gas (1936)
Lord Emsworth and Others (1937)
Summer Moonshine (1938)
The Code of the Woosters (1938)
Uncle Fred in the Springtime (1939)


Eggs, Beans and Crumpets (1940)
Quick Service (1940)
Money in the Bank (1946)
Joy in the Morning (1947)
Full Moon (1947)
Spring Fever (1948)
Uncle Dynamite (1948)
The Mating Season (1949)


Nothing Serious (1950)
The Old Reliable (1951)
Barmy in Wonderland (1952)
Pigs Have Wings (1952)
Ring for Jeeves (1953)
Jeeves and the Feudal Spirit (1954)
French Leave (1956)
Something Fishy (1957)
Cocktail Time (1958)
A Few Quick Ones (1959)


Jeeves in the Offing (1960)
Ice in the Bedroom (1961)
Service with a Smile (1961)
Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves (1963)
Frozen Assets (1964)
Galahad at Blandings (1965)
Plum Pie (1966)
Company for Henry (1967)
Do Butlers Burgle Banks? (1968)
A Pelican at Blandings (1969)


The Girl in Blue (1970)
Much Obliged, Jeeves (1971)
Pearls, Girls and Monty Bodkin (1972)
Bachelors Anonymous (1973)
Aunts Aren't Gentlemen (1974)
Sunset at Blandings (1977)

Thanks awfully and all that sort of rot, to Anne-Marie Chanet, John Fletcher, Tom Kenney, Tony Ring, and Charles Stone-Tolcher, for their erudite comments and precious advice!

Additional thanks to Alan Norman, Ole van Luyn, and Neil Midkiff for later updates, formatting, and editing.